"Altered appointment"

About: Bradford Royal Infirmary

I arrived at BRI Orthopaedic Outpatients this morning only to be informed that the clinic had been brought forward by a day and therefore I had missed my appointment. The hospital had tried to contact me but because they were ringing my landline number and the phone does not work they were unable to obtain a reply. I had given my mobile phone number several times after being admitted and also the mobile number of my next of kin. Surely having failed to obtain a reply on the landline my records could have been checked and a mobile number called. Also when the post arrived at my house which was after I had returned from the hospital there was a letter dated 3 February informing me that the appointment had been amended to 4 February. Since the return address is in Bristol I assume that this is a central booking point for appointments. It is bad enough that the appointment was not sent from a local office but what makes it worse is that it appears to have been sent second class.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Bradford Royal Infirmary

Hello, first of all I do apologise sincerely that you did not get a response to this feedback at the time. There was a technical fault which meant some posts were not feeding through to us. We only became aware of this recently and have been in touch with NHS Choices to put this right.

I am sorry too about the problems you experienced with your appointment, and the stress this caused you.

I hope this was resolved but if there is anything still not working well please get in touch with the Patient Experience Manager on 01274 364810 and we will do our best to help.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful