"No respect"

About: North Middlesex Hospital

My Son who was referred to colorectal never received his appointment so I called out GP who gave me central bookings, who in turn gave me the hospital number to contact. I called the given number and someone answered after so long and told me it was the wrong dept as they only dealt with babies for the same condition. I went back to switchboard who I may add never answer their phone, but after 45 mins they put me through to the same rude women who told me never to call that number again as she already told me it was for babies..She was rude, arrogant and plain nasty for raising her voice at me. She than put the phone down on me. How sad is it that people that hold certain positions can be so vindictive and nasty towards others for seeking assistance. She had no reason to be that nasty as she was spoken to politely. I called back to get her name but she refused to give it.. She needs to go on a disciplinary for bad manners and learn how to be a good receptionist. I called the GP receptionist to inform her of the situation and she told me she had a similar experience herself with rude members from North Middlesex hospital. She too was shouted at when she tried to get an a appointment for herself. North Middlesex hospital now has a beautiful building but the staff there need updating also in the manner dept. People deserve respect especially the ones who are respectable towards the staff. This is the second bad experience I have had with this hospital and I am not saying all are the same but it would seem that the majority are plain nasty with no respect for patients.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Middlesex Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. I am the registration and out-patients service manager saradavenport@nhs.net I am sorry that you have had cause to complain about the manner in which a member of staff spoke to you. I would like to assure you that all our staff are expected to be polite and helpful to patients and I am sorry that we fell short of this standard on this occasion. If you have any queries about colorectal cancer appointments please contact northmid.2weekwaitteam@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful