"I left still knowing nothing"

About: St James's University Hospital / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

Sadly in July 2014, I miscarried at 13 weeks pregnant and was admitted to Ward 24 @ St James via A&E for 3nights!

A&E WERE FANTASTIC, from what I can remember. It was all abit of a blur!

When on the ward, everything seemed like hard work to the senior staff. Clinical support, house keepers and portering staff were fantastic! So polite and respectful!

I wasn't in a very good frame of mind and was in agonising pain and large amounts of blood loss causing me to have low blood pressure and to feel lethargic. I slept, all the time with the added help of the pain relief!

On several occasions I waited 1-2hours for what should of been regular pain relief and asked several times expressing the pain!

3 days of nil by mouth awaiting surgery, nobody explaining what was going on!

Forgetting to tell me I wasn't going to surgery so I could eat and drink.

In the 4 whole days and 3 nights I was admitted I had my observations done once whilst being on the ward.

I didn't know one member of nursing staffs names nor did I know the doctors either.

If it wasn't for my partner asking whilst I was asleep, what the IV was for? I would never of known I was being treated for a infection and was on antibiotics.

They give me 2 tablets before surgery, which when I asked what they were for was told "they just help your cervix" leaving me still clueless!

To be told I will be discharged in the next hour and I wouldn't have to wait as my medication was already on the ward. 5 hours later I was discharged and a doctor saying when he is ready he sort my discharge paper work out!

The list could go on! !

Due to the situation I couldn't think straight I didn't ask questions. I should have.

I left still knowing nothing.

Looking back, the whole experience was made more distressing and upsetting because of the horrible stay in hospital!

As a CSW @ SJUH myself, I felt sickened that standard of care is seen as acceptable!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear WilsR,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read that you feel you had such a poor experience and that the care given did not meet your standards.

Unfortunately there is not enough information in your post to allow us to look into the matters you have raised thoroughly therefore I would ask that you contact our Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS).

This would also allow us look into the matters you have raised more thoroughly and also to see what lessons we could learn from your experience.

Please call our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience