"Rude staff"

About: Queen's Hospital (Romford)

I had a backslab applied one evening for a dislocated elbow and overnight it became so lose that it could be pulled off with ease, returned to a&e and seen by an extremely rude nurse practitioner who said I must've moved it or got it wet. I explained that I had moved it to get a drink without thinking and she carried on belittling me like a child that I must've moved it or got it wet. I said I'd already admitted to moving it in the night but this wasn't enough she then insisted the cast was soaking, the only way it could've got wet was from the rain which is ridiculous. She proceeded to cut the cast off and said that she had a good mind not to put another one on- which in fact she didn't! I will not be punished like a naughty school child and left. Even the receptionist asked if I wanted to see another nurse instead but by this time I'd had enough.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen's Hospital

Thank you for leaving your feedback on NHS Choices. I am sorry to hear of your experience in our Emergency Department. Our staff should never be rude to our patients and I am sorry that you have been spoken to like this. It is not acceptable that you felt you were being punished, our staff should be working to provide excellent care and I am afraid it seems like we have let you down on this occasion. I am concerned about your experience and need more information from you so that I can investigate. Please contact me via our PALS team on 01708 435 454 or email PALS@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk so I can look into this. Yours sincerely, Flo Panel-Coates Chief Nurse

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful