About: Spire Liverpool Hospital

i was admitted for investigative surgery. was told prior that I would be undergoing a general anaesthetic so did not eat from 5pm previous evening and drank at 6am that day. when seen by doctor at 12pm was told would be having a local anaesthetic. asked at least 3 nurses throughout the day could i have a drink of water and was repeatedly told no, when i told them i was having a local a, not general was told i was wrong! Doctor obviously did not tell anyone or write this up, or no one could be bothered reading notes. Was handed a pair of surgical stockings and told to put them on myself which for someone with severe abdominal pain i found extremely difficult to do. was given no information about time of procedure etc. at 4.30 my daughter telephoned to see how my recovery was going and she was horrified to discover i hadnt gone to theatre yet and had been left with nothing to eat or drink all day, 24 hours in total without food. . My daughter asked could i be given something to eat. at around 530pm i was taken to theatre and was horrified to be greeted by theatre assistant aggressively saying to me "well you've got a very bossy daughter havent you"!!! so whoever spoke to my daughter had told everyone what my daughter had said! how extremely unprofessional!.How dare a theatre assistant make such a personal and derogatory comment!. Upon being taken back to my room the tv was on very loud and the remote was missing. i pressed the buzzer and when nurse came i asked for remote, was told " well you cant keep it we've only got 3 for the whole ward" i said " i dont want to keep it, you can turn it off". LaterI i rang the buzzer again and when nurse came I politely asked for the bed rail to be lowered as i wished to get out of bed to go to the bathroom. the nurse said she didnt know how to do it and would go and get someone! she never returned. Now being desperate to use the toilet i climbed over the bed rail which hurt a great deal after the surgery and was also very dangerous as i am quite frail. She never did come back, I could have been lying on the floor or in a puddle in the bed! . Rather than the hot soup and BLT i had been offered for my tea earlier i was given a cold ham sandwich and a coffee with no milk, around 7pm. What a dreadfullly long time without food or drink! I take milk, presume none left at this time of night. no-one came near me to check i was okay. my son text to say he was on his way to pick me up and i was so upset i got up, dressed myself in pain, packed my bag and made my way to the entrance without checking he was even there yet. as i was leaving i said to a nurse" im going now, bye" and she never even answered me. I stood in the car park on a freezing cold night with tears rolling down my face. You wouldnt treat a dog the way i was treated in this place. my daughter wrote and spoke to the complaints department and 28 days later we have still not had a response to the complaint! absolutely disgraceful.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Spire Liverpool Hospital

We are very sorry to hear that you feel you have not received the high standard of service we always aim to deliver. Listening to and acting on feedback is important to us and we would like to take the opportunity to meet with you to discuss your experience. We have a thorough process for considering any complaint we receive and look upon it as an opportunity to identify how we might improve our service; to arrange this, please contact me on telephone number 0151 733 7123. I hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards Sandra Flynn Matron

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful