"My mother in-laws experience"

About: Crosshouse Hospital / Care of older people

(as a relative),

My husband's mother was discharged from Crosshouse Hospital after a week's stay. She was readmitted the next day! she had a bed sore on her coccyx, fluid on her lungs, dehydration, an irregular heartbeat, and malnutrition.

An ambulance was called by her carer as the 88 year old frail lady could not get herself out of her chair to go to the toilet and as a result had wet herself by the time the ambulance arrived. In my opinion she should never have been discharged in this state and obviously has not been eating or drinking whilst in the hospital. she also had a mild degree of dementia which worsens on each time in hospital. her chances of ever getting back home are very poor. a disgrace!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear Fennel,.

I am disappointed and distressed that your Mother-in-law has been discharged while so poorly and I am truly sorry. This is not good at all and is also very distressing for all the family. I feel this is something we, as an organisation, should look into fully and learn from. If you would like to meet to discuss this with either Ann Gow, our Interim Nurse Director or the Senior Nurse and/or Senior Manager for that aspect of the service, I will be happy to arrange that for you.

Alternatively, if you wish to contact me with your Mother-in-law’s name and date of birth (or CHI number) the team will be able to look into this further for you. You can phone me on 01563 826222 or email me at eunice.goodwin@aapct.scot.nhs.uk Or you could contact our Director of Nursing by phoning her secretary (Kate MacDonald) on 01292 513607 or email her on Kate.MacDonald@aapct.scot.nhs.uk Whichever way you would like to take this forward, please just let us know.

I hope your Mother-in-law’s experience is very different this time.

Kind regards,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by fennel (a relative)

Thank you Eunice for your prompt reply.

My mother in law is now in ward 5d but she is " on loan" from 3d and is receiving excellent care from all staff. we have been contacted by her consultant and are in the process of arranging a meeting to discuss her future care.

We felt it necessary to highlight the dreadful circumstances of her last discharge to help prevent this happening to other confused elderly patients.

We are not the type of people who perpetually complain and make life difficult for others, especially in the NHS as we are only too aware of the difficulties the staff face on a daily basis, made worse by having to attain practically impossible targets by interfering politicians!

Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear fennel,

I totally agree, you were right to highlight this to us and the offer still stands. Please feel free to contact us in any way outlined in my last post. Like, you, we don’t want this to happen again to anyone.

I would also like to reassure you that contacting us will not affect your mother-in-laws care. Feedback is so important to enable us to improve the service and provide a quality service it is not about blame.

I am very glad your mother-in-law is now getting is the right care and I wish her a very speedy recovery and perfectly coordinated discharge.

Best wishes,


  • fennel thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too