"lack of information"

About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

i was refered to the Early Pregnancy Information unit in october 2014 as i had started to bleed and i was about 10-11 weeks. They did a scan and told me that they thought the prenacy was going to be a misscarriage and that i needed to come back in 1 weeks time. I then went back in 1 week time they re scaned me and told me that it was a misscarriage and the baby had not developed. on the scan the lady told me she thought i had an infection. when i went to see the nurses they informed they asked me did i have an infection to which i replied i was not sure as this was the first time i had been pregnacy. i was then informed that i would need to go to my gp to get some antbiotics. I contacted my gp practice to make an appointment for a few days time. i went to see my gp adn when i informed them what the unit had said and they were confused which anitbiotics to given as they were not sure what kind of infection it was (i was not told this and the letter for my gp had not been sent out). A few days later i conatcted D47 as the bleeding was getting worse and the hca asked me to come to the ward and my name. I went to the ward and when i got to the nurses station a staff nurse asked me who i was and what i was doing on the ward. I informed the staff nurse that i infroemd by a hca to come to the ward and she replied really. (i would not speak to my patients or family members like this) The hca said yes i took the phone call informed a member of staff. i was then told to have a seat in the treatment room on the chair not the bed. i waited a few hours to be seen by a doctor and did thte tests that where needed. They discharged me and told me that if i had any problems i had to come back to the ward. A few hours later i eneded up on the ward with been unwell and bleeding. the night staff were very nice and treatment was 10/10. i got discharged home the next day.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

We are really sorry to hear of the confusion caused due to poor communication with yourself during your visit to the Early Pregnancy Assessment Unit in October. This obviously caused you some distress for which we apologise. If you wish to discuss this further with a member of the Obstetric team, could you contact the Help & Advice Team using the details below: Email: pals@chs.northy.nhs.uk Freephone 0800 587 6513

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful