"I attended the a+e department at st James today I..."

About: St James's University Hospital

I attended the a+e department at st James today I found the consultant very rude and unhelpful. The correct tests were not done which I found out later on and the healthcare who was with the consultant was also very rude and disrespectful. I was appalled by the service I received and been made out to be a lier. When my cannula was removed by the healthcare, it was ripped out and bled for ages. I only wish I had got names of people I saw but I just couldn't wait to get out.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I was very sorry to read that you had such a poor experience whilst in our care. Please accept my sincere apology that we did not deliver care that met your expectations.

I have passed your comments onto the Matron for A&E at St James’s who will look into the issues you have raised.

Unfortunately we do not have sufficient information to thoroughly look into this therefore it would be very helpful and also beneficial for future patients if you would discuss these issues further with our Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS). This would also allow us to see if there are any lessons that we could learn from your experience.

Please call our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

With kind regards


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful