"giving birth"

About: Rosie Hospital

after 8 weeks of giving birth, I'm still being plagued with doubts over my care during birth. first time I have birth I received wonderful care and felt I couldn't be in better hands, which is why it is so hard to be more complaining. but on reflection, my treatment was no less than barbaric. firstly the midwife was convinced that I wasn't in labour, a common enough situation listening to friends that have had babies here, so just the pefunctionary paracetamol for the labour as by the time she examined me was near pushing. but for 4 hours we were left alone. midwife had no rapport with me, consistently didn't listen, but this I put down to having an inexperienced midwife, it can happen, people have to learn. however, things got worse, there were complications pulling the placenta out, the lining perforated, and so an obstetrician came in and performed what I now know to be called a dilation and curretage. all they offered was gas and air for this procedure, and it lasted an hour. I'm peeved because reading about the procedure I find it is done under anaesthetic. it was honestly awful.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rosie Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at The Rosie Hospital several weeks ago. I am very sorry to learn that you did not consider that the care you experienced was to the high standard you would expect and that we want to provide, and that you were distressed by your experience. If you would like us to look into the care you received and provide a personal response to you, please do not hesitate to contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01223 216756 or email pals@addenbrookes.nhs.uk. I hope that you are enjoying your new baby. Complaints and PALS Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful