"Tried cancelling an appointment"

About: Tameside General Hospital

(as a parent/guardian),

My daughter had an appointment which was no longer needed.

My husband phoned up but it was engaged, he left a message to cancel it. To make sure it was cancelled, I phoned up again but couldn't get through. Therefore, I followed the instruction to cancel the appointment using the online form.

Thinking it has been cancelled, we received a letter at the end of the week basically telling us off for not attending the appointment.

I phoned up the appointment line and got through this time, the lady on the phone told me that they have my request on the system but didn't state what it was for. Generally, the service of this hospital is very good. However, if they are not sure what my request was about, I wouldn't mind they phone me up to clarify things rather than wasting an appointment that someone else could have.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

I am sorry you had difficulty in cancelling an appointment. I have passed these comments onto the Outpatients Manager who will look into the reason why the system didn’t pick this up.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Many thanks

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

‘’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at


  • One mum thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too