"Let down by poor receptionist in X-RAY department"

About: St Lukes Hospital (Bradford)

Dignity and respect Radiographer 5 stars receptionist 1 star. I've just come back from having a DEXA scan at St Lukes hospital. On arrival I stopped at a sign before the reception desk which said "Please wait here" where we were completely ignored by the two people on reception who seemed more interested in the computer. After waiting around 5 minutes a patient who arrived after me ignored this sign and walked up to the reception desk, so once he'd finished I did the same same. The male receptionist completely ignored us before taking the letter without looking up and gave me directions. I had to ask for the documentation that I had given him back. This member of staff needs further customer service training, this was at 1pm on Friday 16th of January. On leaving the unit after the scan I could see another Lady waiting at the Please "Wait Here sign", who was also being ignored by the receptionist. We told her go unto the desk :). Reception was not busy so there was no excuse for such poor service. Once I'd located the Dexa scan waiting area I didn't have a long wait until a very helpful radiographer came and took me for my scan. She was very helpful and explained everything, reception could learn a lot from her.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Lukes Hospital

Hello, first of all can I please apologise that you did not receive a response to your feedback at the time. This seems to have been due to a technical fault which meant some posts not feeding through to us, and we have asked NHS Choices to put this right.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with your experience, it is not what we expect for our patients. I hope you have not experienced any repeat of the incident you describe. We have put customer care training in place aimed at staff in this kind of post and we hope it has raised the quality of the service they provide.

Should you have any further concerns please ask to speak to a senior member of the nursing team, or the Matron for the area so we can look into it straight away and put it right. If you do not feel you can do that please contact the Patient Experience Manager on 01274 364810.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful