"Efficient caring service"

About: NHS 24 NHS Forth Valley

(as a relative),

I had occasion to use NHS 111 in Scotland over the festive period and just wanted to share a very positive experience.

My wife became unwell over Christmas and needed to some attention, but not A&E. I used the NHS 111 service and got through in a relatively short time, only a matter of minutes. Spoke to a call handler who was very pleasant and helpful. He told us that he we would receive a call back within 20 minutes with an appointment time at our local out of hours centre, and that's exactly what happened.

The one opportunity for improvement is that when the person phoned back with the appointment the mobile reception was poor and she said she would call again in 15minutes. However, over an hour passed and we had to phone them back to get the appt. It was probably forgotten due to busy-ness, but it might be good to think about a system for this eventuality if you don't already have one.

Overall very good. Thank you!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Shona Lawrence, Patient Affairs Manager, NHS 24

picture of Shona Lawrence

Thank you very much for your positive feedback via Patient Opinion. I was sorry to learn of your wife being unwell over the Christmas period and I do hope that her health has improved. I am pleased to note that you have commented that your call to NHS 24 was managed well. Patient care and a positive experience are our top priorities here at NHS 24.

I was sorry to learn of your experience however in relation to your return call. I understand that this would have been frustrating at what, I appreciate, would have been a worrying time. It may be helfpul if I explain that the return call would have been made by the local Health Board, as when NHS 24 deem that an appointment is required for a patient to attend at the local Out of Hours Service, their details are forwarded electronically to the local Health Board who then co-ordinate the appointment time and location. The local Health Board then make the return call to the patient to advise of this. I note that NHS Forth Valley have been advised of your feedback and I do hope that they are able to respond to you in this regard.

Thank you again for taking the time to tell your story via Patient Opinion. I do wish both you and your wife well. I can be contacted on the telephone number below should you care to provide any additional information in relation to your contact with NHS 24.

With kind regards

Shona Lawrence

Patient Affairs Manager

0141 337 4582

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Shammy (a relative)

Hi Shona

Thanks for your response. This missed call back wasn't really a big deal for us, we just wanted to share it in case there was something that could be done to improve it a little. I understand from your description that this slight issue occurred with a different bit of the system.

Thanks again

Response from Arlian Mallis, Person Centred Health and Care Co-ordinator, Department of Nursing, NHS Forth Valley

Thanks for highlighting the delay in returning your call,I will take the opportunity of sharing this with the team, they can discuss this with the call handlers and perhaps look at their current systems.

many thanks


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful