"Not Impressed"

About: Bristol Royal Infirmary

I was taken into hospital this morning, because my fiancée was worried I had taken too much morphine accidentally. In a nutshell, I suffer from Bronchectisis, have done since birth. Recently because of the constant pain and continual admissions to hospital with pneumonia and infections, I have been offered surgery to remove a lobe and parts of the lungs that are the problem. This surgery was due to be done three days ago. However, after waiting all day with nothing to eat or drink, I was told at half three in the afternoon, sorry your operation is cancelled. So because of that cancelation, I have to endure more pain and last night I had enough. I took my morphine, as much as I could. Plus my Zomorph tablets. Just to try and get some rest. It didn't work. My fiancée being worried, called an ambulance because of the amount I had taken. The paramedics were brilliant, but the doctor at a&e was totally useless. The doctor knew nothing of respiratory disease. Knew nothing of the operation I was to have and even asked what Bronchectisis was. Anyway, the doctor arranged some blood tests and despite my sats levels being 88-89, despite the pain levels and obvious infection, they told me to go home with oral antibiotics which don't do the blindest bit of good, as anyone who has Bronchectisis will tell you. Has to be intravenous antibiotics. It's okay, I shall probably suffer from pneumonia again in a day or two. Something that could have been avoided. If that happens, that so called doctor better be ready for court action. All in all, I just hope that the surgery im due to have ( unless it gets cancelled again ) goes much smoother than the recent fiasco. Because all of this doesn't give me much confidence in their surgeons.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Bristol Royal Infirmary

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that your operation had to be cancelled: we get particularly high levels of unplanned / emergency admissions at this time of year, which unfortunately has knock-on effects for people who are due to come in for planned surgery. We appreciate that this is a difficult situation for our patients, and particularly in your case where you are experiencing high levels of pain. Please be assured that our clinical teams are working very hard to try and ensure that cancellations are avoided wherever possible. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service at the Bristol Royal Infirmary Emergency Department. Without knowing the full details it is very difficult to properly assess the situation that you describe. We would be very happy to look into this further for you: if you would like us to do so please contact our Patient Support and Complaints Team (0117 342 1050 / pals@uhbristol.nhs.uk) Thank you again for your feedback.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful