"Dirty...rude...kept waiting"

About: Bradford Royal Infirmary

I was in ward 4 after being admitted in a&e. The nurse left the needle that was in my arm on the table where I had to eat. It leaked blood on the table where other patients will be eating and nobody cleaned it up. Just there for hours. There was one nurse on duty and when she went on her very long break there was nobody. I went to the other room to ask for help and the nurses told me that I have to wait till my nurse comes back I was in for 12 hours unnecessarily. I was waiting for discharge papers, but the nurse took a break, they were in my folder and nobody would help me. All another nurse had to do was look in my folder, but they were unwilling. We waited hours for discharge papers that were sat in my folder for a long time I reported this to the sister and she said the other nurse should have helped Everything is so out dated...decor from the 80s..horrible experience

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Bradford Royal Infirmary

It was not appropriate for the nurse to leave the needle that was in your arm on the table where you had to eat. I am sorry that this happened; it is not the standard of care we expect to deliver. If you have any concerns about your stay that you would like to be investigated I would advise you to contact the PALS department on 01274 364021 at Bradford Royal Infirmary or 01274 365853 at St. Luke’s Hospital. The text phone number for deaf people is 01274 382580 at Bradford Royal Infirmary. You can also email pals@bthft.nhs.uk. Thank you for your comment.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful