"walk in centre?????"

About: Wansbeck Hospital

I attended the walk in centre today sunday 11 Jan to be told I have to have an appointment by phoning 111 ????walkin centre???. We were told the nearest walk in centre was Battle Hill. We decided to go to Ponteland Road Walk in centre where we were seen promptly. Attending Wansbeck was a wasteof time and considering that the NHS has a huge problem with people clogging A &E and GP services, I can understand it given our experience of attempting to use services appropriately.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wansbeck Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for getting in touch. I am really sorry that you had a wasted journey on Sunday to the Primary Care Access Centre, I appreciate that you were doing your bit to use services in an appropriate way. Unfortunately the centre is not a 'Walk In Centre'. It is an appointments based service that was set up by 3 local GP surgeries and is accessed by these surgeries for appointments. Appointments for the centre can also been accessed via the 111 service if they identified that this was a suitable service to treat the condition described. I have shared your experience with Beth Godwin one of our emergency medicine managers. She has asked me to let you know that we are currently looking at trying to develop this service further to meet the needs of our patients. Best Wishes Annie

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful