"general surgery/breast clinic"

About: Royal Berkshire Hospital

When I was treated before in the breast clinic I saw a different person every visit to say it as frustrating and made a lot of difficulties in my care is an understatement. Well here I am 5 years later with a new lump. I am sent to the breast clinic - to meet yet another person . This person did not know my history at all so I was asking questions and coming up with the solutions for treatment whilst he was looking like a scared rabbit and desperately trying to read my pathology reports in front of me. He was unsure of the answers to a couple of questions so said I would be called after the mdt meeting where my case would be discussed. Well it turns out (many calls later) that my queries were not discussed at the mdt meeting as agreed. In the end I was forced to go to another appointment (yet more wasted time off work) to get it sorted out. He did sort it but then wrote a letter saying everything had been done at the mdt meeting as said (It was most definitely not!!!) and that he had sorted it all out as I had requested now. It was nothing to do with the many calls I had made and the arranging of another appointment by me then !!!!! ........... for which there was no apology by the way. All very disconcerting for my new treatment........

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Berkshire Hospital

We are sorry to hear of the problems that you have encountered. The breast team work very hard to ensure that patients receive an excellent standard of care which is managed in a timely fashion. We would welcome the opportunity to better understand what happened in your case so if you could contact us via the Patient Relations Team on 0118 322 8338 or email talktous@royalberkshire.nhs.uk we can then respond more effectively to your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful