"Daughter waiting 48 hours for a scan"

About: Pilgrim Hospital / General surgery

(as a parent/guardian),

My daughter got admitted to A & E last night to be told that she had to wait until the following morning to get a ultrasound scan.

Got to this morning, she was told to wait till tomorrow morning. She's a child of eleven and she's with mum and she is a bit too laid back.

I'm not happy. 48 hours for a scan terrible.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sharon Kidd, Patient Experience and Engagement Manager, Patient Experience, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Sharon Kidd

Dear Superdad

Can I please ask you to call Terry Vine, Matron Acute Paediatrics on 07795 451581 or contact the ward directly 01205 445563 and the staff locate the matron for you as he is current on Ward 4A today. He would like to seek further details from you.



  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear Superdad.

Thank you for leaving your comment on Patient Opinion. As you can see we did leave a comment asking you to contact me so we could resolve the issue that you raised. As you did not leave the name of your daughter, we were unable to confirm which patient this referred to, but there was only one patient that closely matched your description so I have made the assumption that this was your daughter.

When your daughter was seen by the surgical team they requested an ultrasound scan. If they had requested an emergency scan, it could have been done very quickly but they did not feel that she needed an immediate scan. Therefore they requested the next available routine scan. It is not clear why you were told that a scan was not available until the following day, but by the time we received your comment, your daughter had already been for her scan as she was first on the scanning list and this was reviewed by the surgical team who determined there were no surgical issues. She was then handed over to the paediatricians who then discharged her later that day. After receiving your comments we checked to ensure that your daughter and her mother were happy with their care, which they said they were, but we did not refer to your comments in case we hadn’t identified the correct patient.

I am sorry for the anxiety that was caused by any anticipated delay in your daughter’s treatment, which, as a father of a daughter myself, is entirely understandable. I hope you feel that we have addressed your concerns adequately but if you feel we haven’t or you wish to discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact me as advised by Sharon above.

Kind regards

Terry Vine, Paediatric Matron

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful