"The department rewards abusive patients."

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

Whilst I was patiently waiting for my appointment time (which was running a little late) it was apparent that a clinic had been cancelled for that day and those patients concerned had not been informed. The receptionist apologetically explained to one disappointed patient she would not be seen and the patient left. Another patient expecting to be seen then arrived, refused to leave and demanded 'get someone out here'! An admin person then arrived, again apologised and promised he would be seen (not as per appointment but by another doctor) then gave priority to this 'person' and my appointment was delayed further. I feel very aggrieved by this, I had arrived before this person, have a fresh facial scar which I am very embarrassed about and was subjected to waiting even longer exposing my disfigurement. I feel a loss of confidence in this department not because of their medical staff because they are excellent but because of extremely poor administration for rewarding such unacceptable behaviourt at the expense of other patients.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on NHS choices. It is always extremely difficult when a clinic is cancelled on the day. This may have been due to a number of reasons including sickness. Please be assured that every effort is made to minimise the impact to all patients when a clinic is cancelled at very short notice. I sincerely apologise that you have had a less than satisfactory experience in our dermatology department and will ensure your feedback is shared to prevent the same issues occurring again. Kind regards Rebecca Steele – Service Manager Gastroenterology/Endoscopy, Dermatology

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful