About: Wythenshawe Hospital

After coming to the hospital with severe pain in my stomach I found the staff neither sympathetic or helpful. I was sent for a scan by a very kind doctor and then when coming back to the ward the staff chatted and didn't let the doctor know I was back from the scan - which the doctor then had left for the day and I had to endure more waiting for the next doctor!! I have been back for another scan and have been sent home to wait for another date to come back! I have just rung the ward because I am in pain again to be told the best thing to do is to go to a and e - the original thing I did! Followed up by "because we are really busy!!" I am always fit and healthy and very rarely need medical attention, and for someone who is quiet nervous and "doesn't like the fuss" has just been made to feel like I am completely wasting the hospitals time! And am now sat here in pain not having the confidence to actually take myself to the hospital!! Past experiences have however been amaZing at this hospital it is just a shame I have now been let down! I am not one for complaining and have never done anything like this before.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wythenshawe Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the NHS Choices website. I am sorry to hear of your experience and would be grateful if you could contact me on 0161 291 5381 in order to discuss your experience further and enable us to investigate your concerns. I am concerned that you are in pain but do not feel that you can come back for treatment because of your experience so far and, if you contact me, we will do what we can to assist and ensure that you are treated appropriately. Kind regards Patient Experience Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful