About: Arrowe Park Hospital

I spent quite a few hours on ward 22 as my father was admitted to hospital with a chest infection. He was on an acute ward. May I thank all the staff, which was the majority , who were kind,considerate and caring of my father. . Unfortunately there were a couple who shouldn't be nurses. One 's attitude towards my father was inconsiderate and bad mannered , he has a dementia. Another didn't seem to even notice when my father said ouch about her rough moving and handling technique. Part of the problem is, that there isn't enough staff to care for patients who have dementia, who need a higher level of care and monitoring, often so they don't try and get out of bed and wander around the ward, increasing their risk of falling. More training is needed in dementia care. Thank you

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very grateful for the positive feedback you have provided about the care provided by the majority of staff on Ward 22. However, we are sorry to learn about your concerns regarding the attitude and actions of other staff on the ward. We recognise the importance of meeting the needs of patients with dementia, and are very sorry that the experience you and your father had did not reflect this. We have passed your comments on to Ward 22. If you would like for us to look into your concerns further, could you please ring the Complaints Department on 0151 604 7660, email wih-tr.Complaints@nhs.net or in writing to Complaints Department, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. The Complaints Department can discuss the best way that we can try to address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story