"Orthopaedic Outpatient"

About: Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

I had an orthopaedic appointment last week to follow up on a knee replacement surgery done in November 2013. The doctorI saw this week was not very nice to me, they said that the Government had told the hospitals to be tough on overweight patients and they discharged me. I am having terrible pain in my right knee together with severe spinal pain. They weren't the slightest bit interested, they opened the door for me and shouted to the nurses 'Discharge', the nurses looked at me and obviously you could see from their faces they wondered why I was being discharged. Incidently I have lost a lot of weight I was 32 stone and now weigh 19 so to be told I am grossly overweight and therefore I am not welcome at the hospital because they have been told not to treat overweight people. I asked if they could help me loose more weight and the answer was no. Why do you treat smokers, drug addicts, all of which is self induced and not treat some one like me who has made a tremendous effort to loose weight and made to feel like hanging myself, I have been on steroids since the age of 4 which does not help. I am so upset and cried all week. Most of my life is spent lying on top of the back due to severe pain from both my right knee and been on Oramorph and Tramadol for the last 5 years is not right. I have written to the department of health and the Government to find out who said not to treat overweight patients, had the doctor listened or read my notes they would have seen I have lost a lot of weight. I never want to be put in that position and would never want to be seen at Bournemouth hospital for anything. I had to see 3 consultants in a conference as a surgeon had messed up the first knee replacement and they were told by the senior surgeon the knee replacement would need repeating from the beginning. I had a admission day and the doctor promised to my husband and I that they would do a complete replacement but about 5 minutes before survey they called me in to say they were just going to put a larger spacer in and not completely re do the surgery. After surgery they have written in the notes that a spacer was all that was needed very convenient as they told me prior to surgery that the spacer was all they would do. I had to wait about 3 hours after my due time because they were all running late which included all the patients. I suggest they said they would only do the space and write in the op notes that everything else was firm and all that was needed was a larger spacer. Following surgery the anaesthetist came to see me the next morning but after that I did not see any doctor and the surgeon certainly did not see me. There was another girl who was treated the same. On discharge day a junior anaesthetist was in the ward and the nurse asked them to discharge me, they came to see me, did not look at my knee and discharged me. I got home with it bleeding in excess. Poor treatment throughout.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Dear Anonymous Thank you for your posting regarding your knee replacement surgery in November 2013. I am so disappointed to hear that the doctor you saw was not very nice to you and that you are still suffering from pain. It is incredibly impressive that you have lost a significant amount of weight which is an incredible achievement in itself. You make note of quite a complex history and I would like to clarify that clinical decisions are made on a variety of complex assessments of which weight may be one but they would be more extensive than this. Because of the severity of your comments I personally went and spoke to the senior nurse in charge of the unit. Together we would like to apologise that your care was not what you would have hoped for or the standard we would expect to offer. The Senior Nurse is called Lisa Lee in that Directorate and she would be very happy to discuss this with you in more detail and her contact details are as follows lisa.lee@rbch.nhs.uk . Alternatively you may prefer to go through our Patient Advice and Liaison Service who can be contacted at PALS@rbch.nhs.uk or by telephone 01202 70 4886. Please know that if you choose not to have any further contact your comments will be shared with the wider clinical team. Thank you again for taking the time to post on NHS Choices and please may I wish you a Happy New Year and a healthy 2015. Kind regards Sue Mellor Head of Patient Engagement

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful