"Doctors too busy to see patients"

About: Royal United Hospital

Over the Christmas weekend period my wife who is an inpatient failed to receive the appropriate treatment for her condition because there weren't enough doctors on duty. Constantly told she would be reviewed only to be told later that doctors too busy in a&e to see patients on the wards! Basically the hospital effectively closed down for 4 days apart from emergencies or life threatening conditions. Patients on wards were left to deteriorate until the Monday.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal United Hospital

We welcome your comments regarding you and your wife’s experience at the RUH as it helps us to identify problems and improve the quality of our service and care. We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your wife’s recent visit. In order for us to investigate your concerns fully, we would ask that you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01225 825656 or via email at ruh-tr.PatientAdviceandLiaisonService@nhs.net.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful