"Avoid seeing a consultant in Maternity Services"

About: Homerton University Hospital

Whenever I have seen a midwife at the Antenatal clinic I have been extremely happy with the service provided. However, every time I have seen a consultant I have been frustrated and disappointed. The first time the female consultant was abrupt, absent-minded, didn't explain my situation clearly and made me very upset. The second time my husband and I had to wait for two hours before we saw the consultant with no information about how long we would be waiting for. Though he was very thorough and effective during our appointment - and the experience was much more satisfying and reassuring than the first appointment, the wait was far too unacceptable. We are now waiting again and have been doing so for an hour, again with no information about why or for how much longer we will wait. They are clearly unrealistic about their appointment times when seeing a consultant and need to take this into account when booking women in for appointments with a consultant so that valuable time is not wasted and people are not left frustrated. If I was rating the maternity services purely on midwife care then this review would be glowing. Unfortunately the consultant led care has seriously let the department down.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Homerton University Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience of our antenatal clinic. We are pleased to hear that you have had good antenatal care from our midwives. We are very sorry to hear about your experience when seeing a consultant. Your comments have been passed on to the antenatal and maternity team. We would like to understand more about what happened on this occasion so that we can give you a full explanation and aim to resolve the issues you have raised concerning your care and treatment. I hope you will contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) 020 8510 7315 or email PALS.Service@homerton.nhs.uk so that we can investigate further and give you an opportunity to discuss your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful