About: Southmead Hospital

Unfortunately I was unable to start my shift as I could not park. Seems a bit daft to build a hospital in the middle of a housing estate with grossly insufficient parking facilities. I apologise to all the patients whose treatment was delayed whilst I tried to park. If I ever need a hospital appointment Southmead would be my last choice - not a reflection on the care provided but the shambolic access and parking set up.

Story from NHS Choices


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Anonymous – I am sorry that you felt the need to post comments on the parking situation at Southmead. As you will be aware from the many lines of communication used by the Trust to appraise staff of the parking arrangements, additional parking for both patients and staff is being provided in Phase 2 of the development of the Southmead site. However, there is a finite amount of space on the site and this has necessitated a temporary contraction in parking while the old buildings are demolished; you cannot make an omelette without breaking some eggs as it were. In order to maximise patient parking alternative offsite parking has been introduced for staff and public transport links have been improved, among many other measures. While regrettable, this has been a necessary temporary measure, which has been operating since May/June and all staff have been aware. Being late for your shift therefore seems like bad time management. Regards – Steve Sykes Advice and Complaints Team Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read