"My operation has been cancelled twice."

About: Doncaster Royal Infirmary / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

I was due to have a operation on my foot in early December and it was cancelled and rearranged for late December. Just had a phone call to say that due to lack of beds it's cancelled again.

Heartbroken is a understatement, I've prepared myself for 6 months, got fit, lost 2 stone in weight, and prepared myself mentally as its quite a painful procedure and have been let down yet again by our wonderful health service.

It's disgusting how they treat people. I suffer from epilepsy, and have had a kidney removed due to cancer, so I'm afraid I'm doing damage to my remaining kidney with all the pain killers I have to take. But I feel nobody at the hospital gives a damn. Don't really know what to do next.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Gill Pickersgill, Communications & Engagement Officer, Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Hi Rose - Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry to hear of your frustration due to your cancelled operation. As you have not left any contact details could I please ask you to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) where you can discuss your concerns and provide us with more information to assist us in resolving your situation. Their contact details are: Tel: 01302 553140 or Freephone: 0800 028 8059 or Minicom (Text Talk): 01302 553140. You can also email: pals.dbh@dbh.nhs.uk.

Thank you.


Gill Pickersgill

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Gill Pickersgill, Communications & Engagement Officer, Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your comments and firstly, can I apologise for the cancellation of your surgery, both at the beginning and the end of December.

You will probably know from the news that there has been a significant increase in emergency admissions through A&E, which has been seen across the whole country. When there is such a big increase in demand, there is no option, but to prioritise the emergency cases and sometimes this does mean that we have to cancel planned surgery.

We absolutely recognise how stressful it is for patients to have their surgery cancelled, when they are nervous about the surgery itself and when they have planned their lives around the dates. I am very sorry for the inconvenience and upset that you have experienced. Please let me reassure you that cancellation is always an absolute last resort and is based purely on ensuring the safety of all of our patients.

We will be very happy to re-book your operation date and in the event that you have not already been contacted with a date, please contact the booking team, who will be happy to help you on 01302 381456

Kind regards

Mandy Espey

General Manager Musculoskeletal and Frailty Care Group

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Doncaster Royal Infirmary

We are sorry to hear that your experience at our hospital did not meet your expectations and would like to reassure you that we will look into the matters raised. To help us with our investigations we would welcome you taking the time to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS), where we can discuss these matters with you in confidence and gather the extra information that will help us speed up our enquiries. PALS can be contacted by phone or email on: Tel: 01302 553140 Freephone: 0800 028 8059 Minicom (Text Talk): 01302 553140 Email: pals.dbh@dbh.nhs.uk Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful