"My daughter left ear infection and perforation,"

About: Royal Derby Hospital

I had to go 3 times to the a&e for my daughter ear and perforated left ear, was given some drops and told to go home, when i read the leaflet i was horrified to see this ear drops must not be put in a perforated ear drum, but was told by doctor it is ok to do so. My little girl was in agony when i used those drops, so went to my local walking centre, waiting 2 hours to be turned away and being told to go back to A&E, which prescribed my daughter with a wrong medecines. The nhs is truly failing those in need, and being laughed in the face, by a senior doctor who tells you go home she will be ok with the drops provided is a joke. my daughter is left with her perforated ear drum and in agony. I never questioned the nhs before, but after this experience i can see why people so often complained against the way patients are treated. I will certainly take my little girl cases further

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Derby Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. I must sincerely apologise if there was an error in prescribing when you came to A&E. We would like to look into this further and establish if you were given the wrong ear drops for your daughter and the reasons why. We take feedback from our patients and their families very seriously and we continuously improve from all feedback we receive. Please may I ask you to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) (details below) and they will take further details to enable us to investigate for you. Freephone: 0800 783 7691 Office: 01332 785156 Email: dhft.contactpals@nhs.net Text: 07799 337500 Opening times: 9.00am - 5.00pm, Monday to Friday (excluding Public/Bank Holidays)

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful