"Two inpatient visits"

About: Spire Liverpool Hospital

This year I have had two private orthopaedic operations at this hospital. My surgeons were both excellent, however I was not impressed with the pre op or admin of my cases. I paid privately to be treated at this hospital and on arrival in the waiting room found it to be very basic and not very clean. Nor could we find anywhere to sit. The nurses doing the pre ops had no idea whether we were private or NHS which I found bizarre in a private hospital. There was nowhere we could get coffee or water or newspapers ( unlike other private hospitals I have visited) whilst waiting. My day room on my first visit was grubby and stark with a bathroom that belonged in the late 60's ! It was very obvious that this hospital has completely sold out to the NHS and cares not a jot for their private patients. Follow up visits resulted in long walks on crutches with a mere flick if the hand by reception staff as to which direction to take No suggestion of a wheelchair or assistance. I will avoid Spire healthcare in future. There are better options under Ramsay Health Care where they value their patients. In fact they have two levels for NH s and Private patients in terms of waiting areas and facilities, which in my opinion is as it should be, otherwise why pay a large sum of money to be treated in the same dismissive manner ? I won't be visiting this hospital again in the near future. There are other options, Renacres being much better.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Spire Liverpool Hospital

We are very sorry to hear that you feel you have not received the high standard of service we always aim to deliver. Listening to and acting on feedback is important to us and we would like to take the opportunity to meet with you to discuss your experience. We have a thorough process for considering any complaint we receive and look upon it as an opportunity to identify how we might improve our service; to arrange this, please contact me on telephone number 0151 733 7123. I hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards Sandra Flynn Matron

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful