"Rotherham Hospital Radiology Department"

About: Rotherham Hospital

I was referred to Rotherham General radiology department for two x-rays and a cystoscopy. I received 5 appointments for each of the procedures through the post, which was quite confusing! I rang uop to discuss thi9s with somebody but nobody was able to tell me what I needed to know and I never got a call back to explain which appointment to turn up to, although they advised me to come to the nearest appointment date. I turned up for the most recent letter , which had the nearest date on. When I got to the department I was told that my appointment had been cancelled! I explained to the receptionist that I had to arrange childcare for my two young children and arrange to hacve a famioly member with me for support, so it was not easy for me to just change days! The receptionist was unap[ologetic and did not seem to care, talking in her monotone voice. I then went to the main reception to ask about the complaints procedure and was given a telephone number to ring. I was ringing this all day from the morning o late afternoon, getting a busy tone each time. When I did finally get through I had a bored sounding woman talking to me on the phone, who offered me a call back for the next day by the department itself. This was a week ago and I still have not heard anything back! I was scared and built up to the day and was let down. I rang my GP up and explained this and have now been referred to the Royal Hallamshire instead,

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rotherham Hospital

Hello, my name is John Beeston, Interim Director of Diagnostics and Support Services at The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust. I am sorry to hear that you have experienced problems with regards to your recent appointment at the Trust and apologise for any inconvenience caused. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you personally and in more detail in order to ensure that we are able to establish the cause of this and address the concerns you have raised. If you would be happy to discuss this further, please contact me on 01709 424362. Kind regards John

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful