"Struggling to make appointments"

About: Southern General Hospital / General Medicine

(as the patient),

I have been getting venesection treatment for approx.. 5 years for Genetic Hemochromatosis from nurse Christine Munro at the old Southern General Hospital and may I say who has been fantastic in the caring nature and treatment of her patients.

She and her staff have been accommodating, flexible and communicated with there patients to ensure all her patients get the treatment they need. However this wonderful new super hospital has now been built, with the promise of better facilities and outpatient clinic's later and even at the weekends, etc.... and now the promises have all disappeared.

Now the treatment is at the Victoria in Shawlands with no communication with patients, just random treatment times dished out on random days ( e. g. last set of times 16: 00, 15: 30, 11: 00, 9: 30, 15: 30) As you can see from the times you obviously either need to be unemployed, very rich you don't have to work or be in a job which has flexi time that you can make up your own hours. Nothing at all to cater for the vast percentage of people who work 9: 00 til 5: 00.

Unfortunately I work in stirling til 4: 30 and cannot make any of these time and when I phoned to enquire if I could get something nearer 5: 00, I was advised that the last appointment was 4: 00pm. When I advise that I cannot get away from my work and what could I do, the less than helpful staff advise that I either take it or leave it!!

There seems to be no thought or any idea with this new service and certainly no provision for working people.

I am at a loss in what to do with no-one to turn to as there are no clinic's after 4: 00pm that I can attend........................................ So I'm stuffed!

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lorna Gray, Patient Experience, Public Involvement Project Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dear BBob,

Thank you for highlighting the issues you have experienced with the appointment times for this clinic. I unfortunately don't have detail on this to hand, however I will pass your comments to the relevant service and come back to you with more information.

I can appreciate your frustration, particularly as you have clearly had a very different experience in the last 5 years of your treatment so I will get this information back to you as soon as possible.

Kind Regards,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read