"Inpatient on ward B26"

About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

Having chrones disease and having had several many major operations I have had quite a few visits to this ward throughout the years. The staff on the unit from doctors,staff nurses and HCA's are very professional and friendly,involving you in your treatment and although sometimes the ward routine is stretched due to staff numbers,especially staff nurses at certain times. I would certainly return back to this ward again, if I am hospitalised in the future. On questions of ward cleanliness, the domestics who worked on this ward on my visits kept the place spotless and having spent time on other wards both at this hospital and other hospitals would give this ward a great 9 out of 10! However the food provided by the hospital is not so good,indeed it is awful!!

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience of care at Sunderland Royal Hospital. We were pleased to hear that you felt the staff to be friendly and professional and that you have been kept fully informed at all times as we know how important this is. We are sorry that you were unhappy with the food you received, particularly as our Catering Team has been working hard to try to improve the quality and presentation of the food provided but we are pleased this doesn't seem to have affected your overall experience. Thank you once again for your comments.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful