"Appalling service"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

There should be an internal review regarding this hospital. No letters received regarding appoitment date. No communication whatsover between departments. Told had to wait a further 13 weeks from end of 5 week week wait even though using angina spray 5 times daily, until wife pushed for earlier appoitmnent. : clear manipulation of data.... hospitals have waiting time targets to achieve..... Garbled messages about concern over low blood counts but not addressed just before procedure.... a heart procedure. Got into waiting area at 8am for booked procedure. no fluids since midnight and had to wait 4 hours in a chair before they found a bed available with the excuse this happens every day.....well do something about it then, it's not acceptable. Poor old man desperate not to be sent home, becuase he said that he'd been sent home twice already after arriving for his procedure. Man in next bed had not had bloods or general checks done but went into theatre.Should I go on? Phones ringing and a huddle of staff gossiping. Cleaner nattering to receptionist who had 4 hot drinks and was rarely at her station to answer the phone. Toilet absolutely disgusting in waiting area ....after cleaner had cleaned it and finished gossiping. In amongst this one fantastic nurse who stood out like a beacon from the others, with her care and knowledge. Now waiting for a heart bypass...wonder whether i'll last the wait?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to highlight the areas of concern that you experienced whilst under the care of the Manchester Heart Centre at Manchester Royal Infirmary.

We were very sorry to learn of the poor communication and lengthy wait you experienced. It is difficult to respond in full to your concerns without more detail, however please be assured that the issues you have detailed have been taken seriously and shared with the relevant Manchester Heart Centre Managers, who will be taking appropriate action to deal with and monitor improvements related to each of the concerns you have raised.

I am grateful for you being so kind as to mention one particular member of nursing staff that stood out during your stay.

If you wish to provide more detail which will allow us to carry out a full investigation of your concerns, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk