"After being referred to Birmingham Dental Hospital..."

After being referred to Birmingham Dental Hospital in July 2014 by my dentist I have still not received the treatment I need. Today I travelled to Birmingham, after taking a day off work, to be told that my appointment had been cancelled and re-arranged for two weeks time. I did not received any advance notice of this cancellation. This followed an appointment two months earlier to the Boots Dental Outreach centre in Birmingham (another day off work) to be given exactly the same diagnosis as my dentist that had made the original referral to the dental hospital in the first place. So far two days lost income plus travel cost and my tooth still aches. I am not very happy! Also I have just sent an e mail complaint to the "Patient Advice and Liaison Service" and guess what the email address that I was told to send the complaint to bham.pals@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk is not longer monitored! I am sure the treatment will be fine when I eventually get it, but this poor service, waste of resources on unnecessary consultations plus poor appointment administration is unacceptable.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Dental Hospital

Dear Patient I am sorry for the delay in responding to your comments; due to difficulties experienced when attempting to access this site to respond. As you know, since your posting, I have spoken with you on the telephone about each of the issues you have raised. Your appointment at the Outreach Centre was your initial consultation which all new patients undergo, either at the Hospital or at the Outreach Centre. I sincerely apologise for your wasted journey to your most recent visit, as you had not received the appointment cancellation letter sent you . The cancellation was not texted to your phone, which would have meant the letter was less important. I would also like to apologise for the out of date PALS leaflet you left the hospital with, and for the inconvenience of having to re-email to the new address for the service when you received the message about the service having switched to an NHS.net account. I am aware you have a further appointment booked for next week, and I trust this will go ahead without incident. I am sorry you were left with a poor impression of Birmingham Dental Hospital when you visited last week, and trust you will have a positive experience when you next visit. If you wish to, please do contact me again by email: alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk or phone 0121 466 7128 Yours sincerely Alison Last Associate Director of Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful