"Management need to get a grip!"

About: Worthing Hospital

Supplied with wrong catheter bag so could not change it. Rang hospital to be told that the District Nurse deals with this so to call my surgery. Rang surgery to be told the District Nurses are now separate so called another number. The District Nurse organised this through my chemist - but she said that the hospital did not advise them that I needed support. Still waiting for an appointment to remove catheter. Hospital still will not email appointments because "they are not secure"!!!!! Which is a problem as I am moving house. Why do the management make simple things so difficult???

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Worthing Hospital

We are very sorry to learn of the challenges you have faced with the care for your catheter following discharge from hospital. This will have caused you unnecessary anxiety at what is already a stressful time. Our discharge processes should work to ensure that you are provided with clear support and guidance and we are sorry that this did not happen. Your posting has been forwarded to the service managers so that they can review where things went wrong. We are also keen to ensure that you have received the care you need. As the NHS Choices website is confidential we do not have your contact details. We would therefore be very grateful if you would do contact our PALS department by visiting our website www.westernsussexhospitals.nhs.uk/contacts/pals/, or calling on 01903 285032 or emailing us at PALSWorthing@wsht.nhs.uk The PALS staff will then be able to support you with your concerns. Please accept our sincere apologies for such poor experience.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful