"Administration in Urology dreadful"

About: Worthing Hospital

There is a worrying muddle in administration, not for the first time. Last year I turned up for a procedure only to find I had actually been booked to see the consultant in his office! As they didn't have an endoscope available I had to come back the next day for my operation. On 13 November 2014 I had another operation but unfortunately suffered retention requiring a catheter. I was told that this would be removed within two weeks and given a spare bag. Appointment letter arrived for three weeks later, not two, which turned out to be to see the consultant, not remove the catheter! As I had arranged a house move around the information given me at Southlands panic set in! Furthermore I asked for letters to be emailed to me as I know I won't get them when I move. No luck! The letters aren't clear what they are for and you have to keep chasing and asking. This should be such a simple matter to organise, but there seems to be a breakdown in understanding between the clinicians and the admin staff. All this causes unnecessary stress and the risk of infections or wasted appointments. I am still waiting for the catheter to be removed which is causing me discomfort.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Worthing Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback about your experience of our urology service. We are sorry to hear about the poor communication between the clinical and administration staff which must be extremely frustrating and a source of great anxiety to you. We have forwarded your posting to the managers for the service and requested that they review the systems for supporting patients both before and following procedures. We would also like ensure that your treatment is progressing appropriately and that you have received the care that you need. As the NHS Choices website is confidential we do not have your contact details. We would therefore be very grateful if you would contact our PALS department by visiting our website www.westernsussexhospitals.nhs.uk/contacts/pals/, or calling on 01903 285032 or emailing us at PALSWorthing@wsht.nhs.uk The PALS staff will then be able to support you with your concerns. Once again please accept our apologies for your poor experience.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful