"Hartley ward is shocking !!!!"

About: Pendle Community Hospital

My grandma was recently admitted to the Harley ward for physio, she was in constant pain for 4 weeks although staff kept saying they was trying to manage it. When my grandma told them she was in too much pain to even be rolled over or put onto a bedpan she was accused of being ' awkward ' the staff told us she was refusing to eat which we have now found out that this was not the case, however she couldn't physically sit up to eat due to pain but nothing was done to help her! On many occasions we had been on the ward and her buzzer had been pressed and we could wait for up to 15 minutes exact time. Single members off staff was moving her alone because they was very short staffed. She also gained a bruise to her face which they was unable to explain until I reported it so now it could be when they was rolling her, rolling a little too vigorously if you ask me. By the end of this she was terrified of staff coming in to her and would beg me not to leave her alone . Will be making an official complaint.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Pendle Community Hospital

Dear Anonymous Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of care for your grandmother at our Hartley Ward at Pendle Community Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your concerns about the care she received are passed onto the team and I am very sorry to hear that your recent experience of the care given wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. If you would like to talk through this with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a poor one for you and your grandmother we would really value this so that we can try to improve things this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471/ 01254 733704 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk. Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further. Many thanks for taking the time to comment Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful