"Problems trying to arrange to have my implant removed"

About: Bromley Healthcare / Contraception and reproductive health service

(as the patient),

I called the Mottingham clinic today as I desparately need to have my contraceptive implant removed and wanted to enquire whether I could have this done if I just attended teh drop in clinic on a Wednesday or if I needed an appointment. I have a full time job, a baby and a 2 year old, so need to make a lot of arrangwements in order to attend the clinic. (When I went to have it put in I waited for 2 hours) So I wanted to understand if I made these arrangements then could I have the procedure done or would I need to go back for an appointment, per the advice on the website. The person I spoke to was rude, told me 'they are not here', 'I don't work for them', I advised I was despartae for help and asked who I could talk to, was then bluntly told to go to the beckenham clinic today, when I had already explained my situation with work and childcare. Eventually I was given the number to call for the Beckenham clinic, which doesnt help me as my enquiry is relating to whether I can have the procedure tomorrow at Mottingham. The person was rude and short with me and the conversation left me in tears.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Amanda Mayo, Head of Integrated Care - Bromley ICN, Operations Directorate, Bromley Healthcare

picture of Amanda Mayo

I am so sorry that this was your experience this afternoon when you are clearly very busy. We try at all times to accommodate requests however clearly in this instance we did not. We are investigating the incident and will update you on Patient Opinion when this is concluded.

With regards to an appointment tomorrow we do not have a session at Mottingham Clinic. There is a drop in session at Orpington Hospital. I wonder if you could attend there at 16.30 where a full clinical assessment can be conducted and an agreement reached about potentially removing your implant.

I hope this is helpful

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Jonathan Lewis, CEO, Bromley Healthcare

picture of Jonathan Lewis


I am Jonathan Lewis, the CEO of Bromley Healthcare. I am very sorry to hear about your experience. You are more than welcome to e mail or visit me if you remain unhappy. I am away on holiday for a week or so, but can be reached on 07733 308089 tomorrow and from the 23rd Dec.



  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful