"First and last time"

About: Rosie Hospital

I was induced at 41+6 being sent home the day before due to having no beds available in delivery ward. I understand the hospital being short staffed and nurses and midwives having too many patients but being a first time mum I felt like I was constantly forgotten and left for hours on my own. When we first arrived it took 4.5 h for a nurse to actually come over and even say hi let alone explaing what's going to happen. After a long wait I was finally induced and I started contracting not much later. When contractions were about 5-6 mins apart I asked for pain relief. Although I wanted an epidural or entonox I was told I'm not dilated enough to have an epidural and they don't have entonox on the ward. I understood and hoped I will be taken to the delivery unit shortly so I could have gas and air but they didn't have any beds. I was given and injection more then an hour later when I first asked for it (I understand that it needs to be prescribed and doctors are busy but at that moment you really don't care). The pain relief was too little too late and the contractions were unbareable I had an examination before midnight and I was 2-3cm and no one though my baby would come before the morning. At 03.00 they finally examined me and I was 8cm. Finally then I was given a bed in delivery unit and when I got there I was 10cm. I finally had gas and air but I was so disappointed that I had to labour in antenatal ward when sharing a room with 5 other people. That's not the way you would want it by any means! More issues I had: - nurses/HCA's being so busy with some ladies constantly needing help so if you don't press your buzzer no one really checks on you. I was not told where to get breakfast/lunch/dinner. - nothing gets explained or offered unless you ask for it. - every doctor/nurse tells you a different thing - long time to getting discharged or reviewed - using antibiotics on babies as a precaution I do understand how busy it is for nurses and midwives on the wards but like I said at that moment you really need people to care and help you and yes sometimes even without asking for it would be nice. I didn't need any help but it would have been nice if some one asked if I'm ok and if I need anything. Although the medical help for newborns is great and addenbrookes is the best place for babies I myself felt unsafe and I just didn't feel "cared for" I wouldn't blame the staff but the system but for me it really was the first and last time to have a baby there.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rosie Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback about your experiences when you gave birth at The Rosie Hospital. Firstly, I would like to congratulate you on the birth of your baby. I am saddened to learn, however, that your experience was not as good as we would hope, and that you felt dissatisfied and let down. If you would like to give us the opportunity to investigate the issues you have raised and respond to you personally, please do not hesitate to contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01223 216756 or email pals@addenbrookes.nhs.uk. In the meantime, I have passed your comments to the senior team at The Rosie so that they are aware of your comments and can take action. Complaints and PALS Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful