"Unable to get an appointment or prescription when needed"

About: Blue Star Medical Services Limited Kent and Medway Medway Maritime Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as the patient),

On Friday I rung my GP surgery requesting an emergency appointment or prescription as I have a history of chest infections and breathing difficulties. the receptionist was rude, didnt give me the chance to speak, didn't listen and was unhelpful. I was informed that gp would contact me which he did at 6pm to inform me surgery was closed. again he did not listen and said he would leave me a prescription Monday for an inhaler to pick up which was not needed. I urgently needed steroids and antibiotics plus nebulizer. my medical history at his finger tips would have shown this. also I had my flu jab on the Monday arm swollen hot and hard. last few years chest infection has followed flu jab.

However I deteriorated over the weekend like I knew I would. early Sunday morning rung 111 who reacted promptly sent an ambulance blue star arrived. thankfully professionals at last gave me oxygen and two nebulizer meds. then rung medoc 5 times. spent two hours waiting for call for appointment no response so blue star dropped me off at medway maritime. this was at 930 am they officially finish their shift at 8am they stayed with me until I was given triage. I was most impressed with their dedication to their job and commitment to the patients in their care blues star are my heroes. so are the staff at medway maritime who again gave me nebulizer, blood tests, chest x ray, ECG, steroids and antibiotics. 11 members of nhs staff treated me personally not counting the lab staff that done blood tests and pharmacy staff. my point being on the Friday afternoon it would only taken one person to write a prescription. unfortunately for me I was not shown the empathy and duty of care by my gp surgery which makes me very scared and sad as in previous years they have done what the staff at medway and blue star done at 630pm. the gps that helped me then have left taking their dedication to their patients and profession with them maybe it time for me to leave also.


Response from NHS Medway CCG

Dear Fizz,

Thank you for sharing your story and I'm so sorry that your experience has not been good. We (Medway Clinical Commissioning Group) would very much like to investigate this experience and help make sure that it doesn' t happen again.

In order to do this, could you email Medway.ccg@nhs.net so that we can take some more specific details to follow up.

We hope to hear from you,

Hollie Snelson

Communications and Engagement Manager

NHS Medway Clinical Commissioning Group

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your care at Medway Maritime Hospital. Please can we suggest you speak to your GP surgery directly to raise concerns about the care you received there.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read