"Failure to provide appropriate health and social care services for dementia patient"

About: Dudley NHS Dudley CCG

(as a carer),

Serious failures in the community primary health care and respite or residential services in Amblecote. In my opinion it's tantamount to carer abuse. Despite pleading for fair and reasonable help and rest over a 30 months period, nothing has been forthcoming and as a result the carer has broken down with overload (perpetual 24x7 full time care) and the patient's condition is seriously deteriorating with very considerable pain and suffering. To divert responsibility there is an apparent strategy of 'buck passing', 'fudging', 'procrastination', 'thwarting tactics' etc. I believe Dudley CCG is responsible for this situation.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from NHS Dudley CCG

Dudley CCG is always open to receiving the views of the public, patients and carers. Given the detail included in this story we do recognise the issues highlighted. Unfortunately, we are unable to comment further on the individual nature of this case. Its important to say that we do not hold responsibility for the care of this individual as this sits with another organisation.

We believe that we have done all that we can to support both the individual and carer through this and will continue to do so. We are in touch with the carer involved directly and through partners to ensure that they are getting the support they need.

  • Award1000 doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} other {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} think it is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story