"No real follow up care"

About: Forth Valley Royal Hospital / Adult mental health NHS Forth Valley

(as a parent/guardian),

My daughter was admitted to one of the mental health wards at Forth Valley Royal Hospital last month, as a "planned admission" for around three weeks.

This admission happened a month after it was first spoken about and on arrival it was clear there was not a "plan" in place. This was eventually rectified and a plan was put in place for her care in hospital.

However, on discharge, there was no real follow up care. An appointment with the outpatient psychiatrist nine days later at which referral to follow up support was then discussed, despite this being asked for a number of times while in hospital, and discussed prior to admission.

My daughter had voiced her concerns to the psychiatrist prior to admission that it would be pointless to admit her, give support and treatment in hospital, then be discharged with no support to maintain changes made in hospital. She was assured that that was the good thing about having a planned admission, that this could be arranged.

It has now been almost three weeks since discharge and aside from seeing the psychiatrist once for less than fifteen minutes to discuss referral to other services, my daughter has had no checks on her physical or mental wellbeing. She is struggling and on contacting adult mental health services to get her support we have been told they are snowed under and have sent referrals but cannot put a timescale on when she will be seen.

I worry that the time taken for referrals, a complaint to be dealt with, or even a response on this website, is all time that my daughters physical and mental health is going downhill. She needs help now and as a family we feel helpless and very let down after the promise of a "planned admission".

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from NHS Forth Valley

Many thanks for your feedback, I understand this is a distressing time for both you and your daughter. due to complexity of your journey so far and your request for immediate action, can I ask that you contact me directly so that we can discuss your concerns further.

My number is 01324 566217

Thank you

Anne Cook

Clinical Nurse Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by frustrated dad (a parent/guardian)

Thanks for your response, you will recall I phoned you the evening you posted this, two weeks ago. We discussed my concerns, however as yet we are waiting for action to be taken.

Response from Wendy Sharp, Manager, Forth Valley Advocacy

Hello there

I wonder if we can help? If your daughter lives in the Forth Valley area she is entitled to independent advocacy from our service and we can, in turn, help identify options and services available to her.

We have no influence over how quickly she is seen by services but can certainly stand along side her, let her know her rights and help her get her voice heard. We can also signpost her to services she may not know about.

If you would like to find out more or make a referral to our service please phone us on 01324 557070/574311.

  • frustrated dad thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too

Response from NHS Forth Valley

Hello thank you for discussing your concerns with me, I am sorry that no progress has been made, I would like to reassure you that we are investigating the concerns you have and would hope to respond to this as soon as possible.

Anne Cook

Clinical nurse Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful