"Doctors attitude has made me worried to go back"

About: Glasgow Royal Infirmary / Accident & Emergency

(as the patient),

I frequently have to be admitted to Glasgow royal, with a ongoing medical condition. this condition flares up and I am in extreme pain, and vomit, basically feel very poorly. The Doctor who treated me I found him Abrupt, I feel his one on one approach was a lot to be none existent. Frequently I felt he was speaking down to me as if I was a child, I started by trying to fill him in with past experiences and he rudely stopped me from speaking stating who is the one with the medical degree. would I stop commenting on things I clearly new nothing about.

I went to my nearest AE because I felt unwell certainly not to be spoke down to, or made to feel intimidated. I was given pain relief 2 hours after he saw me, even though I tried to express the pain I was in, he told me he had sick people to see to I was in hospital two weeks so I guess I must have been one of the sick people he mentioned.

This doctor has made me scared worried to go near a hospital again I wish they new the impact there behaviour and conduct reflects on our experiences with hospital.

No one should have to feel like a time waster or indeed feel frightened to go back, it is hard dealing with a medical diagnoses and the affects of this without facing such hostility. My consultant is wonderful who treats me at southern general, so this registrar for a time blocked out the good.

please please rethink attitude as they have a huge impact on our lives, hopefully when I have another relapse I will not be faced with this conduct again. Here is hoping.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lorna Gray, Patient Experience, Public Involvement Project Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dear rfg,

I am very sorry for the experience you had recently with the Doctor you saw at the Glasgow Royal Infirmary and I would like to thank you for taking the time to highlight this issue.

You are completely right when you say that the attitudes and behaviours of all staff members has a huge impact on the experience our patients have when they are in our care. NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde expects that every patient is treated with dignity and respect by every member of staff they encounter, therefore I am sorry that this was not what you experienced.

While I completely understand and sympathise with your worry that this will happen again, I hope that your previous experiences with our staff, and indeed with your regular consultant, will alleviate these fears. I will also be passing your comments on to the head of this department to highlight this issue and to reinforce the impact that poor attitude has on our patients.

With best wishes,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Lorna Gray, Patient Experience, Public Involvement Project Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dear rfg,

I am sorry that you have had an unpleasant experience in our A&E due to the manner in which the doctor communicated with you. All feedback from the website is now being communicated to the relevant staff through our team and department meetings. While it is not possible to indentify the individual doctor without further detail, the importance of caring, supportive communication should be our priority and I am sorry in your case this was not your experience.

Best Wishes,

John Carson,

Lead Nurse, Emergency Care and Medical Services

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful