"Brilliant maternity services"

About: St James's University Hospital

I recently gave birth at St James Hospital, August this year. I felt the need to leave a comment as hospitals, especially maternity care, get so much bad press. Before becoming pregnant there were complications and I was referred to the fertility clinic. Unfortunately his was not a good start as the Doctor had got the wrong notes, another person with same name! We actually ended up being pregnant at that point unknowingly and didn't need any intervention. From that point on, our maternity care was fantastic, from our community midwife at Manor Park Surgery in Bramley to our health visitor from Bramley Clinic. We were given all information needed for throughout pregnancy and felt we could make an informed choice about each part. I would also like to mention about our antenatal classes at St James. The midwife who led them was stretched, there were far too many people realistically but she did an amazing job and covered absolutely everything in a very reassuring an informative way. She was able to take us to look around the ward which was fantastically reassuring to know where we would be going when the time came! We also attended a water birth class which unfortunately wasn't as impressive where the midwife actually rang for a Pizza Hut before beginning, late, unable to use the ICT and the room was overflowing! When our time came, we did feel that the staff on the ward were trying to keep us at home a little too long- so we took the decision to make our way to the hospital and I was actually 7cm dilated already! The waterbirth suite was free so I was able to use it. Unfortunately I have birth during changeover, so had 2 lots of midwives, the second one and her student were brilliant! She came in, turned the lights down, the dimmed lights on, and was so calm, even through my shouting! She was so supportive and we were able to stay in this room for hours after our baby was born rather than being moved straight away to a ward. Unfortunately my baby would not feed so we stayed overnight and this again was a pleasant experience. The night staff helped with breast feeding and when this didn't work, helped me with a bottle and made me feel really comfortable. Overall this was a great experience and the staff at St James should be super proud of what they do.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St James's University Hospital

Dear Anonymous Thank you for your feedback regarding Maternity Services at St James’s Hospital. I was delighted to read that you had such a good experience of care and I appreciate the time you have taken to write to us. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned. With kind regards Rosie Senior Nurse Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful