"Chaotic bookings, waiting times, and exhorbitant..."

About: Royal Stoke University Hospital

Although most staff well-meaning this new multi-million pound hospital is shambolic in it's operation. Parking for patients is minimal and fees exhorbitant with access to the main entrance for disabled and ambulances absolute chaos. Computerised allotted waiting times in clinics are never adhered to, and operations repeatedly cancelled at last minute. Substantial communication problems between staff add to the poor service, and (as in our case), a course of treatment that should have taken no more than two years has now exceeded ten and is still not completed! Inpatient treatment experienced was even worse, with failure by ward staff to adhere to prescribed pain relief regimes, and a culture of lack of proper ward routines and management. Prescribed Post-op urgent physiotherapy never materialised, and physiotherapists when contacted were taciturn and unprofessional. Overall, a hugely expensive and impressive facility extremely poorly managed, with predicted patient outcomes severely compromised by lack of organisation and professionalism.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospitals of North Midlands

Dear "manvmountain"

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your experience of University Hospitals of North Midlands.

May we suggest that you contact our PALS Team (Patient Advice and Liaison Service) so that they can investigate the issues that you have raised further. The PALS Team can be contacted on 01782 676450 or 01782 676455 or by emailing patient.advice@uhns.nhs.uk.