"Feeling shaken by stressful accusation by NHS 24"

About: NHS 24

(as a parent/guardian),

Called NHS 24 in Scotland where we live, when our five year old son complained about a tummy ache which kept getting bad on a Friday night. Related how we had earlier incident about 3 weeks ago in England where we had travelled when we were dealt with by the NHS there.

This made the Nurse handling the call inform us that she was going to refer us to the Care Commission since we had ignored our son's condition. We reminded her we had sought care in England but she said it was not the case as though we were fabricating it. That there was no record of a call prior to this and that she was making a complaint about us.

We just did not expect such a response. Not only stressing us out but in fact harassing us. Such poor service from NHS 24 when the doctors providing the care are so wonderful. We have been left shaken as a family how a call for advice makes us out as aggressors.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Shona Lawrence, Patient Affairs Manager, NHS 24

picture of Shona Lawrence

Thank you for your posting via Patient Opinion. I was very sorry to learn that you have stated that contact with NHS 24 on behalf of your five year old son has left you shaken. NHS 24 are keen to explore your feedback further to fully understand how your contact with our service was managed, however in order to do so, we would require some additional information from you. I would be pleased if you would be kind enough to contact me directly on 0141 337 4582 or by email at patientaffairs@nhs24.scot.nhs.uk

I look forward to hearing from you.

With kind regards

Shona Lawrence

Patient Affairs Manager

NHS 24

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful