"Lack of Communication"

About: Royal Derby Hospital

I was as not given any induction when I went into the ward, I didn't know what to expect, what would happen, how or when. When i was given info, it was then contradicted by other staff. I didn't know who to ask for info or support and was left feeling isolated and frustrated. I was put on a drip through the night but the next morning I found the bag still full, I found the tube was clipped so I had to go and find the nurse to remove the clip and allow the fluids to run through. Anyone can make a mistake and forget to open a clip, but this should have been noticed at some point prior to me waking up and having to bring it to staff attention. I was booked onto the ward at 9am but didn't see a Dr till 2.30, prior to this I had bloods taken and paperwork done. I did not begin any treatment until teatime. It seems to me a waste of money and resources to have me in hospital all day for no reason. I could have come in at 3pm and saved staff 6hours worth of nursing time, and the associated cost. Patients should be given a full run down of what to expect from the moment they enter to ward, I didn't like to fuss and I didn't know wether or not to ask staff questions but I find it stressful not to know what is happening, so I was left feeling highly anxious.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from PALS Team, Patient Experience Team, Patient Experience Team, Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Many thanks for providing us with your very important feedback regarding your recent experience as a patient at this hospital. We were very disappointed to read your comments and wish to offer you our sincere apologies for any additional upset caused on this occasion. We would very much like to look into this matter for you and respond more thoroughly. However, to enable us to do so we would need more specific details of this event. If this is something you would like us to do then please contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on Freephone 0800 7837691 or via email on dhft.contactpals@nhs.net who would be happy to assist you further.

However, in the meantime, many thanks once again for taking the time to provide us with this information and may I again offer our sincere apologies and wish you very best wishes for the future.

Kind regards

Patient Experience Team for Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful