"Advice from 111 service"

About: East Of England Ambulance Service NHS Trust / Emergency ambulance East Of England Ambulance Service NHS Trust / NHS 111

(as the patient),

I had attempted to get a Drs appointment on 2 occasions within a week, without success. As I was going on holiday I needed advice so phoned 111. After answering a series of questions, I was diagnosed as having a heart attack. I do have pain in my arms but the "telephonist" refused to listen to why. The reason being that I had pulled a muscle whilst doing a workout! She immediately summoned the ambulance and insisted that I take 280gms aspirin whilst she hung on the phone. A first on scene arrived who took basic tests, followed by 3 ambulance men who gave me an ECG and various tests. They contacted out of hours doctor who gave me tablets for an ulcer.

I was just feeling under the weather and I felt very guilty that 4 professionals had wasted time on me when another patient was seriously ill. All I expected was advice, as the previous nhs direct would have given me. I feel that the telephonists are only reading through a series of questions, do not listen, and consequently precious time was wasted by the ambulance service.

The medical professionals were a credit to the NHS, but not 111 service

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Marian Burgess, Patient Services Facilitator, East Of England Ambulance Service NHS Trust

Thank you for your feedback, I would like to investigate the concerns you have raised and would be grateful if could email eoeasnt.feedback@nhs.net with the date and the location we attended so that we can track the incident and begin an investigation into the way the your call was dealt with by the 111 Service, if you would like us to do so.

With this information I I will also be able to trace the crew that attended and will then be able to pass your compliment on to them.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from NHS Cambridgeshire and Peterborough CCG

I am sorry you are dissatisfied with the service you have received and can fully appreciate your concerns. Cambridgeshire & Peterborough CCG commission Herfordshire Urgent Care 111 service and I will ensure that your comments are fedback to the provider. Once again my apologies for the poor service you received.

Kind regards

Mohammed Mustafa

Patient Experience Officer

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful