"Poor service and lack of communication at all levels"

About: Cheltenham General Hospital / Respiratory medicine Tewkesbury General Hospital / Respiratory medicine

(as a relative),

My Father was due to have lung operation. I had taken him the previous week for a pre opp. He was given an appointment for a specific time and day and to report to the main desk.

We were asked to go to the lung function ward which is where we went. My father who cannot walk far waited for some time and then was taken for some more tests. Basically most of the day I waited for him and was assured that his operation would be going ahead,

I asked the question again and was shown the board. I took my mother home and when we she got through the door the phone was ringing saying he was on his way back in a taxi. Unbelievable!

He was third in line to be operated on, he had been seen by all anly to be told after getting fully ready he was to ill too operate on.

We are fully shocked and dismayed.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cheltenham General Hospital

Hello, So sorry to hear about your father's experience at Cheltenham General Hospital - thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. If you haven't already done so it would be great if you could get in touch with our patient liaison (PALS) team so they can look into the concerns you have raised in more detail. Many thanks again for getting in touch to share this feedback with us. Best wishes The team at Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful