"Temp A&E - Toilet cleanliness and provision"

About: Airedale General Hospital

I had to bring my little girl to the out of hours GP service on sunday 26.10.14, 18.00hrs, i have to say the service of the on call dr was impecable, the dr gave my very poorly little girl a thorough check up and diagnosis his manner with her was great and i felt very at ease that we had got a great service once again. At this visit i had to provide the dr with a urine sample from my little girl, where we were told the only available toilets were in the temporary A&E area, this was the alarming part of our visit. There appeared to only be one female and one male toilet available for all the A&E / out of hours GP patients, which i found unacceptable for the volume of people. I luckily had taken some anti bacterial wipes with me in my bag which i was forced to use before my little girl could sit on the toilet as the state of cleanliness was appalling. The toilet and wash area was extremely dirty and unhygenic it didn't look like it had been cleaned for hours. I didn't want either of us to touch anything! I really think that more toilet provision needs to be accesible for the amount of people visiting these areas and more domestic staff on hand to keep these areas clean and infection at a minimum as well if at all possible a portable stand for wipes, bowls and tissue assessible for patients whilst waiting for a dr. kind regards

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Airedale General Hospital

It is pleasing to read of your recent positive experience when attending the GP Out of Hours Service at Airedale Hospital. We are sorry, however, that you found the toilet facilities within the Emergency Department to be unacceptable. We acknowledge that there have been space restrictions whilst our new Emergency Department is under construction. Our new Emergency Department will be opening on 3 December 2014 when space issues will be much improved. The cleanliness aspects you have highlighted will be investigated by our facilities team. Please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01535 294019 if you would like to discuss this further.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful