"depression and anxiety"

About: NHS Highland (Health) Victoria Integrated Care Centre / General Psychiatry

(as the patient),

I moved to Scotland and had been seeing a well known Psychiatrist for years and on medication. I went to see a Psychiatrist at the Jeannie Deans Hospital in Helensburgh, and he took me off all of my medication. No weaning off, just stop, cold turkey. That was seven years ago. Since then I mainly spend the day under the covers and have such anxiety leaving the house.

I have seen a therapist at this unit a few times, the most recently being last week. I had serious thoughts about this man! I am not a nutcase. I am very intelligent, I just suffer from depression and anxiety. This man gave me the impression that he has just read a text book about clinical and bipolar depression (which I am neither). He went into great detail about describing what a 'High' feels like and relating it to a football team scoring a goal. I know quite well what a high is like, and got the impression that he was on one, but not because someone had scored a goal. ! He was only interested in what he had to say, and talked a load of gibberish.

I forgot to mention that he did not have my records in front of him, therefore he spent 45 mins going over the same old history about my youth, family etc. I'm sure that this appointment was only supposed to last an hour and the next patient was waiting but he continued for another 30 mins until I had to remind him that his time was up. Eventually he came to a conclusion that I was in no way depressed because of my body language, and the fact that I was staying huddled up in bed all day with no interests in my life was perfectly fine. He said 'You are 61, and you can live your life the way you want to live it'. Well that's not the way I want to live my life, that's the reason I went to see him, because I'm too anxious and depressed to get out of bed where I feel safe. Terrible! Is this man genuine? I went straight out of there angry and deflated as hell and made a call to my GP who I cannot talk to until Monday. I've spent 7 years in hell since I came to this town. My GPs are great, but they must obviously know there is a problem at this unit.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Viv Hamilton, NHS Highland

picture of Viv Hamilton

Dear robby,

Please accept my sincere apologies for not responding to your feedback on our services sooner. I am concerned about some of the issues you have raised and with your permission I would like to look into these. This service is provided by NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde as part of our commissioned services for the Helensburgh & Lomond area. If you are willing to send me more detail on the concerns that you have I can then raise these with my colleague in NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde and we can investigate this together.

My contact details are viv.hamilton@nhs.net Tel 01369 708345 or you can also contact Linda Skrastin Clinical Services Manager for Helensburgh & Lomond at l.skrastin@nhs.net Tel 01436655008

Thank you for taking the time to contact me. Your feedback on our services is very important and will enable us to look to see if there are areas where we can improve and learn based on your experience.

Kind regards Viv Hamilton, Locality Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful