"Left feeling very distressed"

About: Southampton General Hospital

I attended the and e today after fainting and being taken to hospital by abulance long wait to see a doctor but I understand that the worst of the experience was having an allergic relation to the plaster that was holding the canular in my hand i place I called to a nurse to ask to take it out as my arm was swelling and red to which I was told I am not your nurse and I will tell your nurse she never came my my relative went to ask and someone took it out I was left distressed by the attutuide of staff and left the department in tears and distressed

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southampton General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. However we were very sorry to read about your reaction to the plaster that held the cannula in place on your hand. We were also very sorry that you left the department in tears and were distressed by the attitude of the staff who cared for you and this is not how we would want you to feel. It was disappointing to read that the plaster was not removed along with the cannula in a timely way and we would like to offer our apologies for this. We do hope that you are now fully recovered. Your comments will be shared with the Emergency Department team, for them to learn from your experience. If you would like to discuss this further, you can contact the Patient Support Services on 023 8120 6325.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful